Image-Poetry-Text

This is an exercise best done quickly. It can double as a poem” – Ali Smith, Creative Writing Workshop

Write down the first image that comes into your head.

Rocking O.W to sleep; tensed little muscles turning into a soft snore

Write down the first emotion that comes into your head.

Angry

Write down the first line that comes into your head.

Pickled sausages are good

Write down a different emotion.

Regretful

Write down a different first line.

The bushes of the wild forest gave away his blue skin

Write down a different image.
A carrot driving a spaceship

Write down another first line.

I couldn’t believe my eyes as I watched them take it away.

Write down another emotion.

The heavy, caked feeling begins to sink in

Write down another image.

An elephant laying down on a pool chair enjoying the Moroccan spring breeze

Write down an image that is an emotion (i.e. that will act as one).

I was sitting at the table at the little kids eyes watching my every move.

Write down a first line that is an emotion (i.e. that will act as one).

When the heart goes knock knock

Write down an image that is a first line (i.e. that will act as one).

I felt warm sitting besides kitty Pedrr

Write down the emotion without mentioning the emotion.

Tips of lips curving into a smile 

Write down a first line that’s nothing but image.

Big, black bulls rushed in on the Chinese tourists 

Now remove the image (so that its absence can be felt).

Crushed bodies were everywhere.

Can emotion ever be removed from image?  Nope
Can image ever be removed from emotion? Na uh
Can you have a first line of a story, poem, anything, without emotion or image? Noo

One thought on “Image-Poetry-Text

  1. I don’t think I understood where it was taking me until I reached the last lines. I still don’t understand the whole concept, and when I asked others to give it a go that didn’t help much because they were just as confused as me (if not, even more).

    got stuck here: “Now remove the image (so that its absence can be felt).” – is that even possible?. What exactly is image? Doesn’t everything include image? I’m confused.. I had to repeat this exercise about 3 times, until the final one. And does each section have to relate? what?

Leave a Reply

